NZ Chess News


North Shore CC logo
Home Page


Winner of the Blitz with 10/11 was Andrew Li
Full results (not necessarily the right order or colours...) on Vega: July 31st Blitz


This event took place over the weekend 20-21 July and full results, Vega files, and photos can be found via the link on the left.


While several catch-up games took place in the Lounge, 10 players competed in an all-play-all blitz event. The winner was Antonio Krstev who dropped only half a point (to Eddie Kim).
Full results (not necessarily the right order or colours...) on Vega: July Blitz


A-Grade and B-Grade are 10-player round-robins with 9 rounds over a period of 12 weeks - ie 3 catch-up nights on which you can play games you have missed. Please make arrangements with your opponents to do this! The full schedule can be found online under the Tables tab on the Vega files.
C-Grade is a 9-round swiss. Please let me know if you have to miss a night - I will take you out of the pairings. Email Helen Milligan, [email protected]. C-Grade players are free on catch-up nights! I will try to organise blitz events if people turn up without checking the Schedule...
Follow on Vega: A-Grade, B-Grade, C-grade.
The games of the A-Grade will be available on the Games tab in the Vega files, eventually.


1st with 6/6 was Ralph Hart
2nd= David Evans, Antonio Krstev, and Andrew Li.
Full results on Vega: Rapid Championship 2nd Leg


The lower groups suffered from absences - some notified, many not. This event has no catch-up nights so default is the only option. In future perhaps the club should consider abandoning this structure for the lower groups, and running a swiss instead (where players can be re-paired on the night in the event of absentees).
A-Grade: 1st IM Paul Garbett
B-Grade: 1st Ceferino Isaac
C-Grade: 1st Matthew Chen
D-Grade: 1st Nate Williamson
E-Grade: 1st Eddie Kim
F-Grade: 1st= Bobby Peoples & Brendon Kamberi

Full results on Vega: Autumn A-Grade
Autumn B-Grade
Autumn C-Grade
Autumn D-Grade
Autumn E-Grade
Autumn F-Grade
House-keeping notes: there is no longer a $1 playing fee on Wednesdays. There is no coffee break but you can make yourself tea, coffee or Milo at any time. Use the mugs provided and put them into the dishwasher when you have finished. There will be biscuits!
Other queries: email Helen: [email protected].


1st Gino Thornton
2nd= Ralph Hart and Neil Gunn
Full results on Vega: Rapid Championship 1st Leg

Here is an entertaining queen sac from the second round of the Rapid, and also some information on how to win R+B v R for the benefit of certain other players in round 2!


Our AGM was on March 20th.
President: Helen Milligan
Vice-President: Neil Gunn
Secretary: Daniel Johns
Treasurer: David Evans
Committee Members: Richard Aylett, Paul Garbett, & Ralph Hart.

AGM Lightning Tournaments, 20th March 2019

A-Grade: 1st= Andrew Li, Ceferino Isaac, CM Richard Meng, & Antonio Krstev
Full results on Vega: AGM Lightning A-Grade
B-Grade: 1st Jeffrey Yu
Full results on Vega: AGM Lightning B-Grade
C-Grade: 1st= Aaron Shi, Nate Williamson & Manny Aguilar
Full (nearly) results on Vega: AGM Lightning C-Grade
Please note that the colours and the order of rounds are not necessarily correct, as the Vega files were constructed after the events. The C-grade is missing some results (which I will add if I am given!).

Match: President's Team vs Treasurer & Secretary's Team (aka Assassins)

This resulted in a very narrow win for the President's team!

  President's Team   Treasurer & Secretary's Team
1 Helen Milligan (President) ½ : ½ David Evans (Treasurer)
2 Ceferino Isaac 0 : 1 CM Richard Meng
3 Philip Hair 1 : 0 Daniel Johns (Secretary)
4 Ryan Feyter 0 : 1 Andrew Li
5 Paul Kamberi ½ : ½ Allen Li
6 Matthew Chen 0 : 1 Yifei Song
7 Zak Holdaway 0 : 1 Jeffrey Yu
8 Nate Williamson ½ : ½ Brian Winsor
9 Eddie Kim 1 : 0 Emily Gan
10 Jack Chen 1 : 0 Aaron Shi
11 Pridiyathon Kulchayodom 1 : 0 Lucase Yang
12 Nathan Jin 1 : 0 Andy Yang
13 Kevin Park 1 : 0 Bobby Peoples
    7½ : 5½  

Lightning, 23rd January

1st CM Richard Meng 15/15
2nd David Evans 12
3rd Andrew Li 11½
Full results on Vega (please note that the colours and the order of rounds are not necessarily correct, as the Vega file was constructed after the event).
Lightning Tournament

2019 Schedule: The club re-opened on Wednesday 23rd January. The schedule can be found at the link (on the left).
Junior Club re-started on Friday 25th January. Check out the Junior Club link for puzzles to practice! We now offer some formal coaching at Junior Club for an increased charge of $5 per evening. Basic tuition is still available at $2, as before.

The North Shore Chess Club was founded in 1956 and has been supporting chess on the North Shore and the Auckland region since that date.

From our current premises in the Northcote Senior Citizens Association Hall, on the corner of College Rd and Ernie Mays St, we hold our club nights every Wednesday, from early January through until mid December. Organised tournament play starts at 7.30pm, but casual visitors can sometimes find an opponent. If you would like to know more, please contact the Club President, Helen Milligan, details listed below, or just turn up!
We also run a junior tuition night on most Fridays, starting at 7pm. This is aimed at junior players looking for some guidance & tuition.

North Shore CC, P.O. Box 33-587, Takapuna, Auckland 0740. Meets Wednesdays 7.30pm, Northcote Citizens Centre, cnr College Rd/Ernie Mays St, Northcote (see map, below).
Junior tuition: on Fridays from 7:00pm.
President and Contact: Helen Milligan, email [email protected]. Secretary: Daniel Johns.

Map of the area

This is the venue. There is plenty of parking available nearby.

Northcote Citizens Centre

Events are scheduled throughout the year. The annual subscription is $80 (schoolpupil $50; $30 if playing only in the Junior Club).

Friendly matches on the last night of the year.